Cheese Cakes and Ingrid Michaelson

There is something magical about Lemon Square Cheese Cakes.

They are soft and simple and tasty and filling.  They do not stress me out. I like them and they like that i buy them by packs. I think they would go well with plain vanilla ice cream.  I think they would go well with just about anything except probably sinigang sa bayabas.  I don’t like sinigang sa bayabas.  They make me puke.  They stress me out.  Unlike Lemon Square Cheese Cakes.  Lemon Square Cheese Cakes are my friends.  I should write to Lemon Square.  They had me in mind when they made the cheese cakes.

These cheese cakes do not make me upset.  A friend of mine, though, is upset.  Upset at me.  Upset for reasons that i do not know or cannot fathom.  It makes me sad that people get upset at me.  But my sadness is driven away slowly by the buttery cheese cake.  For a few minutes, i forget.

Ahh.  I’ve consumed the whole pack again.  Good thing there is another pack in the cupboard.  One pack contains 10 individually wrapped cheese cakes!

Hmm.  I must stop.  I need to drink.  There.  3 glasses worth.

I should sing.  I should dance.  I am fulfilled.  By way of cheese cakes.  It has made my heart slightly happy.  I should sing my favorite Ingrid Michaelson song, Overboard.

I could write my name by the age of three
and I don’t need anyone to cut my meat for me.
I’m a big girl now, see my big girl shoes.
It’ll take more than just a breeze to make me

Fall over, fall over, fall overboard, overboard.
Fall overboard just so you can catch me.
But as strong as I seem to think I am
My distressing damsel
She comes out at night when the moon’s filled up
and your eyes are bright, then I think I simply ought to

Fall over, fall over, fall overboard, overboard.
Fall overboard just so you can catch me.
You can catch me.

I watch the ships go sailing by
If I play the girl, will you play the guy?
And I never thought I’d be the type
to fall, to fall, to fall, to fall to fall.

To fall over, fall over, fall overboard, overboard.
Fall overboard just so you can catch me.
You can catch me, you can catch me, you can catch-

I watch the ships go sailing by if I be your girl will you be my guy?
And I never thought I’d be the type to fall, to fall.

To fall, to fall, to fall…

To fall over, fall over, fall overboard, overboard.
Fall overboard just so you can catch me.
You can catch me, you can catch me.

Maybe i should send over the cheesecakes to people who are upset with me as a peace offering?  If only we had Star Trek technologies, i would’ve beamed the cheesecakes over to wherever.  Better yet, i would’ve beamed myself to wherever!

Then a slight melancholy creeps into me.  And Ingrid sings to me Glass.

Rolled around on kitchen floors.
Tied my tongue in pretty bows with yours.
And now we pass and just like glass
I see through you, you see through me like I’m not there.

You could make my head swerve.
Used to know my every curve.
And now we meet on a street,
And I am blind. I can not find the heart I gave to you.

Sometimes what we think we really want we don’t.
Sometimes what we think we want we really don’t.
Sometimes what we think we love we don’t.

And I am blind. I can not find the heart I gave to you.
And when we meet on a street,
Then I am blind. I can not find the heart I gave to you.

On second thought, maybe i’d open the other pack just to keep me sane.

And then, it rains.  Whatever sadness i have is washed away.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

