Mondays, Red Capes and Positive Thoughts

Mondays are quite tricky.

The first day of the work week tends to make some of us run back towards the weekend.  Some of us though are Monday warriors taking the work day by the bullhorns and simply owning the day.  Some of us bulldoze through the week.  In the end, that’s like living a whole life in a day instead of a day in a life.  It becomes exhausting after a while.  And there are more important things to life than all the Mondays combined.

So these days, i tell myself that Mondays are going to be good days.  No need to rush it.  Just enjoy the day and do what you can.  I wake up slowly.  And i can hear Priscilla Ahn.  She sings me A Good Day (Morning Song).

Morning. Sunrise. Open my eyes.

And i can tell it’s gonna be a good day
I can tell it’s gonna be a good day

Did you sleep well? Did you dream at all?
Can you tell me the time on the alarm clock…

I can tell it’s gonna be a good day
I can tell it’s gonna be a good day

But you can sleep in.
You just keep dreamin for us…

I can tell it’s gonna be a good day
I can tell it’s gonna be a good day.

I like dawns.  And early mornings and the wind on my skin.  I like the smell of butter in the morning and eggs cooked sunny side up.  I like orange juice.  And apple juice.  And slightly toasted bread.  And i like it when somewhere in the world somebody tells me: good morning, babe.  I like being called babe.

And so the urge to get raring after breakfast is tempting.  I used to pretend that i was a superhero who can conquer Mondays with an invisible jet and sonic, laser powers of charm and efficiency. But in the middle of the day i had often found myself spent and exhausted.  And by the end of the day, my brain is sore, tired and simply wanting to sleep my life away.  Not anymore.

Priscilla Ahn has this wonderful song about being Wonder Woman and letting go of superhero antics to live a simpler life.  I don’t pretend to want to be a superhero anymore.  I just want to live a happy life.  And so Priscilla sings again.  This time, it’s Red Cape.

I’m alive. Should have died
in a plane crash four long years ago.

Lost my hope. Couldn’t cope
with my fear of news on the radio.

I’ve got a long red cape
that’s caught in the engine of a plane
that’s flying way too low.

Yesterday a hurricane had blown away my long red cape
And I feel satisfied.

Ah-ah-ah-aah-ah
ah-ah-ah-aah-ah

I’m at peace. I feel sweetly released
from all that I couldn’t let go.
If I knew what to do
then I guess I’d finally feel at home.
But I can’t wear my red cape
’cause I would be repeating a mistake.

I just gotta let it go
I just gotta let it go
I just gotta let it ( let it go, let it go, let it go)
I just gotta let it go

I just gotta let it go (let it go, let it go, let it go)
I just gotta let it go (I ah aah)
I just gotta let it (let it go, let it go, let it go)
I just gotta let it go (I ah aah)

Yesterday a hurricane had blown away my long red cape
And ah, ah, ah uh-ah, I feel satisfied.

I just gotta let it go (let it go, let it go, let it go)
I just gotta let it go (I ah aah)
I just gotta let it ( let it go, let it go, let it go)
I just gotta let it go (I ah aah)

Yesterday a hurricane had blown away my long red cape
And I feel satisfied…

Yes, sometimes the true measure of our freedom is the number of things we can walk away from without the guilt.  And yes, somebody in the world will call me babe … one day…and who likes the simple joys of life.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

