Begin Again on a Happy Note

Today is the first day of the future.

Life is strange. And love is stranger. And in the passing hours, one still gets surprised. When i threw the keys away, you found them. You opened the door again. And you took my hand and we ran and ran. And we talked about everything that we were afraid to say. And the hours passed and we knew. That we’ll have to take things one day at a time. To promise that we’d take it one day at a time. And see where this leads us. Life is simpler, that way.

Imagine you and me at the edge of the pool. Me, i would dip my toes test the waters first and get back to the edge of the pool. I’d stare at the water analyzing for a long time. But you, even when there are rules that no diving is allowed, you plunge into the pool laughing and calling me in. You smile. And so who could resist? The bubbles in the water are laughing with us too.

And today, we wake up to a whole new day. Everything is going to be just fine. One day at a time. And you will teach me how to ride a bike. And we will fall, we’ll get up again and laugh. And the wind is in my hair. Everything is going to be just fine. Today is a beautiful day.  And so Ben Lee sings a happy hopeful song:  Love Me Like The World is Ending.

This is the first day of the future.
And all i want is you.
I wear a pair of socks you left here.
But i know, i know, i know, nobody could ever fill your shoes.

I can see so clearly when your smoke gets in my eyes.
Please me with your promises and hurt me with your lies.
Baby can you hear the message i am sending?
Love me like the world is ending.

This is the last day of existence.
And all i want is you.
And there’s a certain sadness.
But i know, i know, i know, the sky is what makes the ocean blue.
I know, i know, i know, the sky is what makes the ocean blue.

I can see so clearly when your smoke gets in my eyes.
Please me with your promises and hurt me with your lies.
Baby can you hear the message i am sending?
Love me like the world is ending.
Love me like the world is ending.

And they all say to pour it has to rain
So don’t complain if we get wet in the deep end.

I can see so clearly when your smoke gets in my eyes.
Please me with your promises and hurt me with your lies.
Baby can you hear the message i am sending?
Love me like the world is ending.
Come on, love me like the world is ending.

And so today we shall celebrate the day thinking happy thoughts.  Like we all should.  We’re ok.  We’re happy.  The entire planet looks a nice place to be in.  Again.  But only different.  And no matter what happens today, people will run us down at our own corner of the world.  But you will smile.  And i will smile.  Because we’re taking life one day at a time.  Life is simple.  You got me.  I got you.

Let’s listen to another infectious Ben Lee song. Catch My Disease.

My head is a box filled with nothing.
And that’s the way I like it.
My garden’s a secret compartment.
And that’s the way I like it.
And that’s the way I like it.

Your body’s a dream that turns violent.
And that’s the way I like it.
And that’s the way I like it.
The winter is long in the city.
And that’s the way I like it.

So please, baby please!
Open your heart.
Catch my disease.

I was backstage in Pomona.
And that’s the way I like it.
She drank beer with Coca-Cola.
And that’s the way I like it.
And that’s the way I like it.

She told me about the winds from Santa Ana.
And that’s the way I like it.
And that’s the way I like it.
She told me she’d love me like fireworks.
And that’s the way I like it.

So please, baby please!
Open your eyes.
And catch my disease.

So please, baby please!
Come on…
And catch my disease, catch it.

They play Good Charlotte on the radio.
And that’s the way I like it.
They play Sleepy Jackson on the radio.
And that’s the way I like it.
And that’s the way I like it.

I hear Beyonce on the radio.
And that’s the way I like it.
‘Cause that’s the way I like it.
They don’t play me on the radio.
But that’s the way I like it.

So please, baby please!
Open your heart.
And catch my disease.

So please, baby please!
Come on…
And catch my disease.

Ah Love.  Life.  And today i love the sun and everything under it. That includes the shrimps and you.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

